Day 17 of 366

Decisions

 

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

-Robert Frost

 

Life is filed with decisions, from deciding which movie to watch to deciding whether to move closer to campus.

Let me just start off by saying I am THE worst decision maker EVER. It takes me hours to pick between pink or blue, one or two. And don’t even think about asking me where I want to eat. Nope, not going to happen.

There are so many decisions our lives depend on.

Should I turn left? Was that the right answer? Should I have gone with a different style?

We’re always going to have that doubt at the back of our minds, but we have to trust our gut- the initial decision we made.

With choices, there really is no right or wrong, but there will be ones that we regret not taking. We don’t want to look back and kick ourselves for not choosing it or for not trusting ourselves.

My brain overthinks a lot. So with any decision I make I’m always questioning whether it was the right one, but I have to start not doing that and go along with it. I chose it for a reason, but as that might be, I also need to start being risky in those decisions.

I tend to take the safest route, and usually those are the ones you regret taking. My mindset recently though has been to take those big chances, to choose the ones I normally wouldn’t.

Right now I’m considering the big move and I don’t mean from one city to the next, I’m talking a state move.

I feel in myself that I am ready, maybe not financially, but hey that doesn’t mean I can’t get the funds. I’m ready for that change. BUT, at the same time, I don’t want to leave my family.

This is where that adult thing comes in: making a decision. *sarcastic “yay”*

What’s going to benefit me? What’s going to be best for my life? What’s going to help move me forward? What’s going to give me more opportunity? What’s going to allow me to live the life I want to live?

If all of this can be answered by the move, then bring it *I say quietly as I think about actually making the move… ha ha!*

Decisions are unavoidable. We’ve all gotta do it. We just have to make sure we go with the ones that scare the heck out of us because those are usually the decisions we look back on and say, “It was all worth it.”

 

Leave a Reply

