Day 10 of 366

What If?

 

I was obsessed with Boys Like Girls in high school, and I’m sure if they were still out there creating music, I’d still be a fan. “The Great Escape” has to be my all-time favorite song of the band’s and one of my favorite songs period. There’s one particular song of the band’s though that really spoke to me and that was “Go.” It was off of the second album “Love Drunk,” which I had on repeat!

For the song “Go” though, I can clearly remember hearing it for the first time on the bus on my way to school. At that age, I hadn’t had a song that meant something to me. Those lyrics sunk in me like bullets.

Get up and go. Take a chance and be strong,

or you could spend your whole life holding on.

Don’t look back, just go. Take a breath, move along,

or you could spend your whole life holding on.            

As I was saying yesterday about fear, we let it overpower us. We let it stop our self from going out there. We come up with an endless list on why we shouldn’t instead of coming up with a list of why we should. What’s there to be afraid of? Failure? At least you can look back and say you tried.

Too many times I’ve chickened out (my mind goes back to the three Disney Channel auditions I signed up for, but ended up passing on). I don’t want to look back at my life and ask the dreaded question, “What if?”

This takes me to one of my favorite movies “Letters to Juliet” and one of the most powerful quotes from the movie:

“… ‘What’ and ‘If’ are two words as nonthreatening as words can be. But put them together side-by-side and they have the power to haunt you for the rest of your life: What if? What if? What if…”

Just as they say we can be our worst critics, we can really be our own worst enemy. Don’t let your self get in the way of what could happen. You never know where that one push you give is going to lead. Even though that leap might be scary, it might also be worthwhile.

 

 

Leave a Reply

