Day 6 of 366

Dial it back

 

So remember yesterday when I told you we’re all human. We make mistakes, so don’t stress it? Well today something happened at work, actually literally two hours ago and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since.

It was no one’s fault, but I just can’t wait to get to work so that I can fix it. (There goes that brain of mine, always obsessing over the latest.)

Whenever this starts happening, my mind goes back to my last semester at a day in dance. We took a meditation class where we went into savasana. In case you don’t know what that is, it’s a type of meditation or yoga pose, also known as the corpse pose, where you literally stay still and dial your body back to zero. You free the mind of all worries, thoughts, plans, anything. (Can you imagine calming my over compulsive brain?) I did it though and it was the best thing I ever did. The sensation it gave me was beyond relaxing. It felt as though I was someplace other than lying on the dance floor. If you get the chance to practice it, do it. You won’t regret it.

That state of feeling weightless and letting go of any stress or worries is indescribable. What really stood out to me that day was what the instructor was saying as we were dialing it back. We may be physically at school or at work, but we’re not really there. Our minds always seem to be someplace else thinking about what we want to eat later on or thinking about all of things we have to do afterward. Our minds are never in that current place. It’s always going to the future.

Processed with VSCOcam with n1 preset

What the instructor was saying to help us get into that state was to forget about everything. We’re in the class and we will be for the next two hours, so why have our minds elsewhere. It’s not like you can do anything about anything right now- There’s no purpose in putting thought into it.

Whenever my mind starts going crazy I think back to that day in dance and basically start dialing back to zero. I repeat to myself that there’s nothing I can do now so why bother, and once I do that, I clear my brain. I begin to focus on my breathing and before I know it, I’m waking up to my alarm.

This is seriously the best thing to come into my life. It really helps calm me. If it hadn’t been for that class, tonight probably would have been an extremely restless night thinking about what I have to do the second I get to work tomorrow.

We have no power over time. We can’t fix or do whatever we need to do until the day and time gets here, so why do we fill our brain with unneeded stress? It’s pointless. Sure we can think about the problem when it first arises, but it shouldn’t consume us. We can worry about it when the time gets here. Easier said than done, that’s for sure. But trust me, if you have an overactive, over obsessed, compulsive brain like I do, try these techniques. You’ll thank me later. (;

Leave a Reply

