Day 5 of 366

Things happen.

 

Thanks to One Tree Hill, I was very much in my feelings and ranting about appreciating your life and never taking each day for granted. As much as I was in my feelings though, I wasn’t feeling the post. And that’s okay. You know why? Because it happens. Not everything is going to work out as planned. Sometimes you need to scrap it and start over, especially when it comes to writing.

Too many times I get frustrated when whatever I’m doing doesn’t turn out the way I want it to. In my mind, things MUST come out right the first time or it’s the end of the world. It’s just the way I am, but I promised myself that I was (and am) going to work on that. Things aren’t going to turn out perfect every time. You have to keep trying until you get it right. (It hurts me to even write that- Told you I need to work on it.)

We have so many chances to fix what we messed up. Earlier I was referring to baking or to crafting, but it goes way beyond that. It could be about a loved one or about a task at work. Whatever it may be, it’s normal if we mess up. We’re human. We’re allowed to make mistakes. Once we figure out what went wrong, we learn from it and then we won’t make that mistake again.

There have been times at work that I kick myself for messing up and even my coworkers say not to worry because now I’ll know for the next time. But at that moment, all I could think about is that mistake. The way my brain works I always focus on that one wrong thing I did and I let it consume me, like somehow if I think about it long enough I’ll be able to go back and change what I did. Am I the only one that does that? It’s seriously the worst. I have to constantly remind myself to stop stressing it. Like I said, I’m only human. Even so, I still can’t help but have it at the back of my mind and it always seems to pop up now and again.

I think, no, I know it goes back to me having to make sure everything turns out right- absolutely nothing can go wrong- but that (unfortunately) doesn’t happen.

If you find yourself nodding to what I’m saying then we both have some work to do, and that is perfectly a-OK because (get ready for a cliché) life is a journey. We never stop learning, so get ready to make those mistakes, start over and move forward.

Leave a Reply

