Don’t give up

Hi there! (:

So I had an entirely different blog post that I was going to put up today, but I changed it. I’ll be honest- Recently I haven’t been feeling all that great. And before you think, “Oh here we go with another sob story,” trust me, it’s not going to be that. I promise.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been applying to many job positions, and haven’t gotten a call. So I mean that’ll put anyone down. Being home and not going out at all is driving me insane. I’m the type of person who needs to be doing something constantly.

Everything just hit me at once one day that I was contemplating not even continuing with my blog. And yeah, I know, I literally just started it, so how could I stop something that’s barely begun? I think that was part of the reason why I was like, “Why even continue” because there was really nothing that I had started.

After slapping myself around a bit, I told myself I can’t stop. Now I’m not going to use this post to rant because I wouldn’t want to be reading someone’s complaints either. Instead of talking about why I wanted to give up, I’m here to tell not only you, but myself, why you can’t let things prevent you from pursuing what you want.

This seems like the perfect opportunity to add in a very influential quote from one of my favorite movies from when I was a teen:

What if everyone gave up, Ella? There’d be no America, no electricity, no TiVo. We’d all have to watch our shows at their scheduled times. We’d never get to see the work of Renée Zellweger or Christina Aguilera. If everyone gave up, we’d all be sitting in mud huts in Europe eating weeds.

-Lindsay Lohan in “Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen”

Okay, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but she has a point. We have to keep going. If we want something bad enough, we have to fight for it. We can’t just quit because other factors in our lives are preventing us from doing it or they’re making it difficult to concentrate on the bigger picture. There will always be obstacles and things, even people, telling you why you shouldn’t go on, but you have to remember why you started in the first place. That’s your focal point.

You never know how close you are to the thing you want most. I know it gets hard. Trust me, I know! I’ve wanted to stop and move on so many times, but what helps me stay determined is the idea of what may happen. Imagining myself getting to that point that I’ve always dreamed of pushes me. The same needs to happen with you. Focus on what’s motivating you. Don’t let that go because of one bad day. If there’s one thing to take away from what was just said, let it be this:

Blog 2

Until next time!! xo

Leave a Reply

